Details

This program is offered for FREE. Assemble believes that the 21st Century skills youth learn in our programs should be accessible to everyone! If you are able to make a donation to help us cover our costs, it is greatly appreciated! (The average cost of an after school program in Allegheny County is over $100 per week).

We highly encourage parents to ensure that their children can attend most of the sessions as the activities build throughout the month. If your child is only able to attend occasionally, please check out our drop-in program, Saturday Crafternoons, which takes place from 1-3 pm each Saturday at Assemble. We also welcome them to our monthly Learning Parties.

Donate to Support Assemble Afterschool

Assemble Afterschool

Calling all after-school artists, budding engineers, and young makers! Assemble Afterschool is a STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, & Math) program that gives kids of all ages a space to learn through making, test out wild ideas, and build a better future. Each week, students will explore the wonderful world of STEAM as they participate in fun, hands-on activities and dream up creative inventions. They’ll also get special visits from local artists, makers, and technologists who will share their passion and talents with the group!
 
Mondays (Girls’ Maker Night, Grades 5-9), 4-6pm
Tuesdays (Grades 6-8), 4-6 pm 
Wednesdays (Grades 3-5), 4-6 pm 
Thursdays (Grades 1-2), 4-6 pm 
 
If you have any questions about Assemble Afterschool or registration, please contact Hannah at hannah@assemblepgh.org

Assemble Afterschool Schedule

Monday, Oct. 1: Girls Maker Night (Grades 5-8): Costume Design Part 1

Tuesday, Oct. 2: Grades 6-8: Pinatas

Wednesday, Oct. 3: Grades 3-5: Paper Mache masks

Thursday, Oct. 4: Grades 1-2: Create your own animation

Monday, Oct. 8: Day Camp (9am-4pm): Costume + Puppet Design for girls in grades 5-8, register here!

Tuesday, Oct. 9: Grades 6-8: Pinatas

Wednesday, Oct 10: Grades 3-5: Multimedia Mask Decoration

Thursday, Oct. 11: Grades 1-2: Paper Mache Planets Part 1

Monday, Oct. 15: Girls Maker Night (Grades 5-8): Costume Design Part 2

Tuesday, Oct. 16: Grades 6-8: Lucha Libre Mask Design

Wednesday, Oct. 17: Grades 3-5: Fantastically Frightening Decor

Thursday, Oct. 18: Grades 1-2: Paper Mache Planets Part 2

Monday, Oct. 22: Grades 5-8: Embroidery Pumpkins

Tuesday, Oct. 23: Grades 6-8: Pumpkin Carving

Wednesday, Oct. 24: Grades 3-5: Cemetery Stroll + Shrinky Dink Headstones

Thursday, Oct. 25: Grades 1-2: Mask Making

Monday, Oct. 29: Grades 5-8: Mask Making

Tuesday, Oct. 30: Grades 6-8: Cemetery Stroll + Sculpey Headstones

Wednesday, Oct. 31: Grades 3-5: Pumpkin Painting Party

Thursday, Nov. 1: Grades 1-2: Land Art

Photo: Ben Filio for The Sprout Fund