Details

This program is offered for FREE. Assemble believes that the 21st Century skills youth learn in our programs should be accessible to everyone! If you are able to make a donation to help us cover our costs, it is greatly appreciated! (The average cost of an after school program in Allegheny County is over $100 per week).

We highly encourage parents to ensure that their children can attend most of the sessions as the activities build throughout the month. If your child is only able to attend occasionally, please check out our drop-in program, Saturday Crafternoons, which takes place from 1-3 pm each Saturday at Assemble. We also welcome them to our monthly Learning Parties.

Schedule

Monday, May 14: Plant Walk

Tuesday, May 15: Union Project Ceramics Lab at Assemble

Wednesday, May 16: Battle Bots (design & testing)

Thursday, May 17: Green Screen

Monday, May 21: Button Making & Sticker Making

Tuesday, May 22: Union Project Ceramics Lab at Assemble

Wednesday, May 23: Battle Bots (repair, improving & tournament)

Thursday, May 24: Tie Dye

Monday, May 28: Memorial Day- No PPS/No Afterschool

Tuesday, May 29: Flower LED soldering

Wednesday, May 30: Finish All Projects

Thursday, May 31: Finish All Projects

Monday, June 4: End-of-the-Year Party

Tuesday, June 5: End-of-the-Year Party/ CSC Mobile Lab unit

Wednesday, June 6: End-of-the-Year Party/ Fab Lab Visit

Thursday, June 7: End-of-the-Year Party

Celebration of Learning 2018

Celebrate the end of the school year with Assemble! See student projects from throughout the semester, reflect on your learning through hands-on activities, and meet our teachers! Pizza and snacks provided. Please let us know if you have any accessibility needs or dietary restrictions in the RSVP ticket or by emailing Hannah at hannah@assemblepgh.org.

Assemble Afterschool

Calling all after-school artists, budding engineers, and young makers! Assemble Afterschool is a STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, & Math) program that gives kids of all ages a space to learn through making, test out wild ideas, and build a better future. Each week, students will explore the wonderful world of STEAM as they participate in fun, hands-on activities and dream up creative inventions. They’ll also get special visits from local artists, makers, and technologists who will share their passion and talents with the group!

Assemble Afterschool Schedule

Mondays (Girls’ Maker Night, Grades 5-9), 4-6pm
Tuesdays (Grades 6-8), 4-6 pm 
Wednesdays (Grades 3-5), 4-6 pm 
Thursdays (Grades 1-2), 4-6 pm 
 
If you are interested in registering for Assemble Afterschool Spring 2018, please contact Hannah at hannah@assemblepgh.org

Photo: Ben Filio for The Sprout Fund

Donate to Support Assemble Afterschool

Thanks to our sponsors!

Our Afterschool programs are made possible through the generous support from the McSwigan Family Foundation and the James F. McCandless for Charities Through the PNC Charitable Trusts Grant Review Committee

Healthy snacks are thanks to 52nd Street Market