Details

This program is offered for FREE. Assemble believes that the 21st Century skills youth learn in our programs should be accessible to everyone! If you are able to make a donation to help us cover our costs, it is greatly appreciated! (The average cost of an after school program in Allegheny County is over $100 per week).

We highly encourage parents to ensure that their children can attend most of the sessions as the activities build throughout the month. If your child is only able to attend occasionally, please check out our drop-in program, Saturday Crafternoons, which takes place from 1-3 pm each Saturday at Assemble. We also welcome them to our monthly Learning Parties.

Donate to Support Assemble Afterschool

Photo: Ben Filio for The Sprout Fund

Thank you to our supporters

Assemble Afterschool

Calling all after-school artists, budding engineers, and young makers! Assemble Afterschool is a STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, & Math) program that gives kids of all ages a space to learn through making, test out wild ideas, and build a better future. Each week, students will explore the wonderful world of STEAM as they participate in fun, hands-on activities and dream up creative inventions. They’ll also get special visits from local artists, makers, and technologists who will share their passion and talents with the group!
 
Mondays (Girls’ Maker Night, Grades 5-9), 4-6pm
Tuesdays (Grades 6-8), 4-6 pm 
Wednesdays (Grades 3-5), 4-6 pm 
Thursdays (Grades 1-2), 4-6 pm 

Assemble Afterschool Schedule

March

Wednesday, March 20: Science Activities with Emma Schell

Thursday, March 21: Learn About Lungs + Pollution with Chelsea from the Group Against Smog and Pollution (GASP)

Monday, March 25: Ceramic Nameplates with Union Project

Tuesday, March 26: Comics and Collage, part 1

Wednesday, March 27: Stop Motion Filming

Thursday, March 28: Cardboard Arcade with Adeshewa

April

Monday, April 1: Pinch Pot Speakers with Union Project

Tuesday, April 2: Comics and Collage, part 2

Wednesday, April 3: Stop Motion Editing 

Thursday, April 4: Bird Feeders with Creative Reuse

Monday, April 8: Pinch Pot Speakers with Union Project

Tuesday, April 9: Hand + Foot Plaster Casting

Wednesday, April 10: Art Projects with Sophie

Thursday, April 11: Plush Food-Themed Pillows

No Afterschool from Monday, April 15 through Monday, April 22

Tuesday, April 23: Plaster Cast Decorating

Wednesday, April 24: Terrarium Making

Thursday, April 25: All About Plants!